Latest Information

Call for Nominations for an Award for the Promotion of International Cooperation in Central and East European and Eurasian Studies


The International Council for Central and East European Studies was founded in 1974 as an international body that could bring together national associations from around the world which were engaged in Russian, Central and East European, and Eurasian Studies. Representatives from 29 different countries participated in the founding conference, mostly from Western Europe and North America.
Since then, the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union led to a huge expansion of participation in the activities of ICCEES, involving more and more scholars from countries which had previously had little opportunity to engage in scholarly interaction with colleagues in the West. More recently, the growth of such studies in countries of southern Asia and the Far East, and an increased emphasis on the global nature of scholarship, has led to a further expansion in the membership and reach of ICCEES. The five yearly ICCEES congresses as well as regular regional congresses are now truly global events.
In recognition of ICCEES’ mission to promote international collaboration in scholarship across the world, the Executive Committee is asking for nominations for an award for an international network of scholars which has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to ICCEES’ aim of global cooperation in scholarship.  The winners of the award will be announced at the 2020 World Congress of ICCEES in Montreal, and will be awarded €2,000 for the future work of the network.
Nominations should be submitted via the form on the ICCEES website by 31st January 2020.
In order to be considered for the award the established network must:

Eligible applications will be evaluated according to:

The award will be judged by a jury of four people put together by the Executive Committee of ICCEES. Enquires can be sent to the Chair of the Jury, but any unsolicited lobbying of jury members other than through the application process is prohibited. The decisions of this jury will be final. The winner of the award will be announced at the opening ceremony of the 2020 Congress.
The method of distribution of the award is to be agreed by all network partners. In the event that this proves not possible, distribution will be agreed by the award Jury.
The Jury for judging the award will consist of four people nominated by the Executive Committee of ICCEES:

Ayşe Ayata (Middle East Technical University)
Kimitaka Matsuzato (University of Tokyo)
Jeremy Smith (University of Eastern Finland) (Chair)
Megan Swift (University of Victoria)

For enquiries about eligibility and the nomination process, please contact Jeremy Smith (

Back to the Latest Information list