PhD – AHRC funding for PhDs in Russian, Slavonic and East European Languages and Culture – Cambridge / Manchester / Oxford


The Centre for East European Language-Based Area Studies (CEELBAS) invites applications for postgraduate research studentships available through its AHRC Centre for Doctoral Training (CDT) in Russian, Slavonic and East European Languages and Culture.

The CEELBAS CDT is a consortium of four universities with extensive expertise in and resources for the study of the languages, literatures, cultures and history of Central and Eastern Europe and Russia: UCL (School of Slavonic and Eastern European Studies), the University of Cambridge (Department of Slavonic Studies), the University of Manchester (Department of Russian and East European Studies) and the University of Oxford (Sub-Faculty of Russian & Slavonic Languages). External training partners of the consortium include the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the British Library, openDemocracy and Pushkin House.


The CEELBAS CDT will award a number of AHRC Doctoral Studentships to candidates who have been offered a place on a relevant doctoral programme at one of its four partner universities (standard UK Research Council eligibility criteria apply). Please note that to be eligible to apply, candidates must have already been offered a place at one of the universities in the consortium.

Application Procedure

The deadline for Studentship applications is Monday 2nd March 2015. Please check online or with the relevant institutional admissions offices for the deadlines for submission of the admissions application and statement of intent to apply for a CEELBAS Studentship.
For full application guidelines and further details, please visit CEELBAS website or e-mail  ssees-ceelbas@ucl.ac.uk.


Application deadline: March 2, 2015

For more informations please visit the website.

Back to the Miscellaneous list