World Congresses


The International Council for Central and East European Studies was founded in 1974 as an international body that could bring together national associations from around the world which were engaged in Russian, Central and East European, and Eurasian Studies. Representatives from 29 different countries participated in the founding conference, mostly from Western Europe and North America.
Since then, the collapse of communism in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union led to a huge expansion of participation in the activities of ICCEES, involving more and more scholars from countries which had previously had little opportunity to engage in scholarly interaction with colleagues in the West. More recently, the growth of such studies in countries of southern Asia and the Far East, and an increased emphasis on the global nature of scholarship, has led to a further expansion in the membership and reach of ICCEES. The five yearly ICCEES congresses as well as regular regional congresses are now truly global events.
In recognition of ICCEES’ mission to promote international collaboration in scholarship across the world, the Executive Committee is asking for nominations for an award for an international network of scholars which has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to ICCEES’ aim of global cooperation in scholarship.  The winners of the award will be announced at the 2020 World Congress of ICCEES in Montreal, and will be awarded €2,000 for the future work of the network.
Nominations should be submitted via the form on the ICCEES website by 31st January 2020.
In order to be considered for the award the established network must:

  • Have been set up since the last Congress in August 2015, and be in full operation by the time of close of nominations for this award
  • Include partners from institutions based in at least three countries
  • The nomination may include as an appendix the names, institutions, career stage, gender, country of work, discipline, and role in the network of each partner.
  • A further appendix may include lists of outputs from the network (publications, events, links to websites etc.)
  • The person submitting the application may be asked by the evaluators for the award to provide further information or materials, after the close of the call.

Eligible applications will be evaluated according to:

  • The diversity of the network in terms of geographical location, career stage, and gender of participating scholars. Involvement of early stage researchers is especially welcome
  • The contribution of the network to international cooperation and collaboration
  • The involvement of scholars or others from the region of ICCEES’ study
  • The contribution of the network to the fields of scholarship covered by ICCEES
  • The outputs, or likely outputs, of the network
  • Links with non-academic sectors, broader societal contribution
  • The extent to which governance structures in the network ensure equality, inclusivity, and openness
  • Commitment to ethical standards and the core values of ICCEES
  • The long-term sustainability of the network

The award will be judged by a jury of four people put together by the Executive Committee of ICCEES. Enquires can be sent to the Chair of the Jury, but any unsolicited lobbying of jury members other than through the application process is prohibited. The decisions of this jury will be final. The winner of the award will be announced at the opening ceremony of the 2020 Congress.
The method of distribution of the award is to be agreed by all network partners. In the event that this proves not possible, distribution will be agreed by the award Jury.
The Jury for judging the award will consist of four people nominated by the Executive Committee of ICCEES:

Ayşe Ayata (Middle East Technical University)
Kimitaka Matsuzato (University of Tokyo)
Jeremy Smith (University of Eastern Finland) (Chair)
Megan Swift (University of Victoria)

For enquiries about eligibility and the nomination process, please contact Jeremy Smith (